Reviews of “Remember Me?”

Editorial Review by BookViral… September 21, 2016

As with the best of crime novels, Remember Me proves a tense and compelling debut as A K Lakelett takes a tried and tested formula and adds her own impressive twist. Creating something innovative in such a popular genre is no mean feat and here she shares her story as a play, cutting between action scenes and chorus. Green, Ford and Carter are deftly drawn and in eschewing the genre tendency towards stoic stereotypes Lakelett delivers rich protagonists who are plausibly imbued with the depth and characteristics of their roles. This makes them feel both authentic and refreshingly original and with an enticing plot she manages to maintain intrigue and a satisfying balance between suspense and transparency which armchair detectives will undoubtedly appreciate. The pace is measured, the twists are well pitched, we become involved in her narratives web of mystery, but more importantly she’s built the foundations for what appears to be an innovative and promising new series.  An intriguing debut and an author to watch in A K Lakelett, Remember Me is definitely recommended.  

Editorial Review by Lucinda E Clarke for Readers’ Favorite… April 13, 2017

The idea of writing a modern book based on the ancient Greek plays with a chorus, and action from two different viewpoints is intriguing and innovative. This is the framework in Remember Me? Faukon Abbey Mysteries Book 1 by A.K. Lakelett. Set in the present day, there is a murder, which is investigated by the police on one hand and a local journalist on the other. The chorus is that of the murderer, whose identity is revealed at the end. The action takes place in the west of England around Exeter when a newly-arrived local dignitary and his rather unsuitable wife buy up and renovate a large, expensive house in the village. All is not as it seems, however, and his unexplained demise in the local woods leaves no clue as to how or why he was murdered, in fact there is doubt for some time as to whether the police are investigating a murder or a death from natural causes.

A.K. Lakelett introduces us to many different characters, but has described them so vividly that each one is easy to identify. We meet Eric’s current and previous wives, his daughter, the two-man police team, the reporter and a few minor characters that get a brief mention. The narrative is written in the present tense, which for me makes for a more difficult read, but that is my personal taste. In places it’s necessary to drop into the past tense for the back story, which leads us to the motive for Eric’s murder, and intertwines with present day events. You have to think carefully about the previous actions to see where they fit in and a question asked at the end still puzzles me. I would need to read the book a second time to be sure I had the right answer. I must admit to being surprised by the final outcome, I was not expecting it, and the author did a great job in leading the reader to suspect one character after another of committing the dreadful dead.

Amazon sites:

5 stars – Brilliant 24 March 2017

I was given a free copy of this book and voluntarily choose to review it. What a brilliant read i couldn’t put it down, loved the different storyline technique it was a different but in a good way. Loved the characters and can’t wait to read the next book in the series. Highly recommend.

4 stars – One man’s effects on the women around him and how they dealt with him   20 March 2017

Another author who is new to me – A K Lakelett and the first book in the Faukon Abbey Mysteries series is Remember Me?
This is a novel with a difference. It’s written as a Greek Tragedy and what a tragedy it is for all those unlucky enough to become involved with Eric Warner. So we have, mystery, murder, and mayhem as in all good Greek Tragedies.
The play opens with a body being found, sitting on the ground and resting against a tree in Tersel Woods. The man has no identification, no wallet, and no cell phone. Added to that is the fact that the woman who called the emergency services has given an incorrect phone number and a non-existent address. The police in the form of DI Peter Greene and DC Terry Ford, are baffled.
They call upon the reporter for the local paper, Jimmy Carter for help and a photo is printed in The Abbey Chronicle asking that anybody who knows who this man is to get in touch with the police. From here comes a phone call from the manager of the local bank who recognises the photo as that of Eric Warner.
Warner and his second wife, the beautiful Estelle, have recently moved to the area with plans, according to Estelle, of starting a family.
But Warner is not as he seems. He has a nasty, murky past and has left a well-hidden trail behind him. He has at least one former wife and it seems, a fairly long-term and disastrous relationship with another woman. There were two children from the earlier marriage, one of whom dies in mysterious circumstances, and a daughter of the woman with whom he had the earlier relationship.
The story and its characters are well thought out, the characters are deftly drawn, places are well researched and in all, it is totally believable.

5 stars – Devon-itely recommend this book … February 4, 2017

Delightful and beautifully descriptive romp thru the English countryside of Devon and Cornwall sets the backdrop for this multilayered murder mystery. Enjoyed seeing dual investigations from the perspectives of the police vs. the small town journalist. All unfolding amidst cutthroat blended family drama.

5 stars – Great first book January 31, 2017

Very impressive debut. Original style and a good mystery.

4 starsInnovative Murder Mystery … January 29, 2017

I took my time getting around to reading this book (the Greek Tragedy thing concerned me, I don’t like change)! But I needn’t have worried, I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the way it was constructed. It was full of suspense and kept me guessing throughout. I’ll be anxiously awaiting the second instalment in the Faukon Abbey series.

5 stars  – Wow!  …  January 2, 2017

Wow! I didn’t know what to expect when I purchased this book. I was pleasantly surprised. The writing style is so different from what I’m used to but it grabbed me immediately and kept me enthralled. I was guessing until the end. A satisfying conclusion. Highly recommended.

4  stars – Clever mystery …. December 23, 2016

This clever mystery threw me a little at first, organised as it is into the format of a play, but the structure soon became invisible once I got engrossed in the story. Normally I’m pretty good at working out the ending of crime stories but this one genuinely threw me! Highly recommended.

5 stars – Impressive murder mystery that I keep coming back to!December 17, 2016

It’s hard not to love a book when it is so innovate and unusual as this – and when the characters don’t just walk across the stage, but literally confuse you and lead you down all manner of paths until the truth (no spoilers!) is revealed. I love a good murder mystery, and I’m personally a bit more of a Poirot, Miss Marple, non-gory-thanks murder mystery kind of gal. This book has a little more than I usually read, but it’s there to drive forward the plot and so it doesn’t really bother me. I loved the way that A. K. Lakelett uses language to describe people, they’re a true wit and it’s a pleasure to turn each page. It’s also a proper ‘read all night to find out whodunnit’ sort of book so prepare yourself: start reading early on in the morning so that you don’t lose half the night’s sleep like I did! All in all, I would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves murder mysteries and anyone who wants a genuinely fresh voice in this genre. Absolutely 5 stars.

4 stars – Wonderful and imaginative format with an unpredictable ending … November 24, 2016

Bravo to the author for taking a chance by using a combination of a very untraditional format for a novel — a play — and yet combining it with a standard novel storyline that’s suspenseful, skillfully paced, and intriguing. When I started it, in fact, I was dubious such a thing could be pulled off, but the author did.

At its essence, REMEMBER ME? is the story of a man found dead, propped against a tree. By everyone’s account, the man was in superb health and nothing immediately points to a cause. But clearly, someone wanted him dead because nothing screams suicide. His wife is distraught. Investigators are stumped. But in a twist you likely won’t see coming, everything evolves into a very satisfying conclusion. (No, don’t ask me to give up the ending! That’s something I never do.) This is book #1 in A.K. Lakelett’s series, and you would do well to pick up a copy and enjoy. The only reason I’ve not given it a full five-star review is that the author needed a better editor to deal with improperly placed commas throughout. That didn’t stop me from enjoying the novel, but it occasionally annoyed me. That said, I sure wish Amazon and other review sites would allow for a 4.5-star review. Keep your eyes on this author. I know I will.

4 stars – A novel novel format  … October 23, 2016
‘A tragedy in three acts’ ~ this is an unusual take on the murder mystery novel. It’s part play, part narrative, part poetry, revolving around a dead body found in Tersel Woods. An experimental structure indeed, it’s one that works very well on some levels and less so on others.

An excellent start reveals the story of Julia, from the years 1993 ~ 1995, as she tells her mother about the joy she’s found with her new love, that quickly deteriorates into domestic abuse. There’s a terrific poem that gives such stark insight into the emotions such victims experience, with the excuses they give to both themselves and others. For Julia, though, there is a dramatic end to this tale. I was very impressed by this part.

Moving on, I felt the dialogue was not always convincing. Some colloquial/character illustrating speech does not come across, and one aspect I found unrealistic, thus: ‘Oh no, they are very private … I have not played with him. I do not know his wife …’. In speech, people tend to say ‘they’re’, ‘haven’t’ and ‘don’t’. This lack of abbreviation in dialogue occurs throughout the book, and when there are several in one paragraph of dialogue it feels very stilted. The other thing that confused me was English people referring to their mother as ‘Mom’, for some reason I couldn’t see. On a good note, there are many quietly humorous observations: ‘He claims and insists that he is not overweight, just a bit round. His wife begs to differ … As with most pathologists, he’s not very good at dealing with the living, and always assumes nobody knows anything about anatomy’.

The plot itself is interesting and, generally speaking, the characterisation is cleverly done (I thought Estelle Warner was particularly good). The story fitted well into the short format; it was a bit like reading a mystery novel without all the less interesting scene setting and incidental stuff, which is a plus for the short attention spans of many of today’s readers! And I didn’t guess whodunnit…

5 stars – Definitely a Different Type of Story (In a good way) … October 20, 2016

It took a bit for me to get used to the format but, I really enjoyed “knowing” what every character was doing and thinking. It rounded everything out.
The storyline has some amount of disturbing information and I will caution some readers to keep that in mind.
Overall, it was a well developed, creative, and intelligently designed book. There are so many angles and perspectives that readers are privy to that connects pieces in a way that you miss out on, in general, of other story-telling.
After getting used to the style, it sucks you in and you become invested.

4 stars – A suspenseful read … October 20, 2016

A very interesting read. Set up like a play was interesting. I really enjoyed it. The author took a big chance by not writing in typical format. Luckily it worked. I changed my mind a few times about who the murderer was. I liked that we had more than just the police view, but we also had the newspaper reporter’s view. I may not of picked this up without a recommendation but I’m glad I did.

5 stars –    Interesting writing style – great story! … September 25, 2016

Let me start by saying this is not my usual kind of book but I saw it on a free download and I liked the cover. I’m a lazy reader. I read romances and easy mysteries. I read the first few pages of this book and thought I wasn’t going to like it since it’s written in a play style. I persevered though, and I’m so glad I did! The mystery of this story was great. The characters were interesting and there were loads of secrets, which I do love! After the initial pages you don’t notice the style of writing and soon you are engrossed in the story. Really interesting premise and I love not knowing what happened until the very last pages.
5 stars – Unique writing style, couldn’t put down … September 23, 2016

What a unique and interesting book! Loved the premise, drawn in from the beginning, and was delighted that there was a real who-done-it mystery to solve.

5 stars – This is a great example of a classic who done it … September 19,2016

A.K. has the unique writing style that draws the reader in. This is a great example of a classic who done it, where you a left wanting more. Looking forward to more from this author. I could not put this book down!

5 stars  – I love whodunits, and in particular the British approach to … September 13, 2016

As a lifelong Inspector Morse fan, I love whodunits, and in particular the British approach to the genre so I was excited to read Remember Me. The cover intrigued me. The format is unusual but it works, I was drawn into this story from the beginning. The police officers are very real and are drawn beautifully as rounded, interesting people. The location in the south west of England is captured perfectly. A great example of classic sleuthing, where you a left wanting more. Looking forward to more from this author.

5 stars – Recommended for fans of “cozy mysteries” …. August 5, 2016

One of the most original formats I’ve read in a while – the idea of a “Greek Tragedy” was a big pull for me, having suffered many of these during my Latin ‘O’ level. A.K. Lakelett can certainly hang a good tale together, and if you let yourself, you’ll soon be captivated by these interesting and very British characters in their very British situations. She brings to life a small-town “Midsomer Murders” ambiance with very real characters. You like the good guys and hate the dodgy ones – what more can you ask from good fiction?
One of the highlights for me was the intelligent way the reader was led to make assumptions about situations – thoughtfully done. I don’t do the spoiler thing, but thoroughly encourage you to play detective and see if you can spot all the red herrings. You won’t be disappointed.

5 stars – It’s not really like that …  July 13, 2016

This was written in “play” format, however, it’s really not like that…it flows just like a normal book….by the time you get past 20 pages, you won’t even remember it was in “play” format. It’s told from the perspective of the detectives and the journalist. I had no idea how it was going to end till the last page…not predictable at all, but so intriguing that you have to keep picking it up, because you want to know who dunnit!!
5 stars – A good one  … June 13, 2016
It has a good story line, which is the most important to me. Took me half day to finish the book, just simply can’t stop…to figure out ‘who is the one’ is the fun part!! I like the Faukon Abbey, like the way the author describe-hope more stories are going to happen in this little town!
5 stars – Well written and keeps you interested from start to finish … June 20

Well written and keeps you interested from start to finish. Looking forward to see Book 2 and what happens next.

French site – Nice books, July 14, 2016
It’s a story about a dead man found in a small forest near a town of Faukon Abbey in Devon, England. He has no id, no mobile, so nobody knows who he is, and nobody seems to be missing him either. Once they figure out who he is, the story kicks in gear. Initially it looks like this is written like a play. But after a few pages, it reads like a regular murder mystery. It’s mostly told from a POV of the two detectives and a reporter who likes digging for stories, they all tell their part of the story.
The characters are solid, and likeable and there was no way I could figure out who killed the guy until the end, and even then I had to check the Epilogue to be sure due to a lot of red herrings. A very good puzzle, and one that makes you think about how evil people can be. Watch out for the Act 3 Pandora’s box!
There are more reviews for Remember Me? on Goodreads.
Please add your own review for Remember Me? on amazon 🙂 You can do it right here