Reviews of Missing Alibi

Editorial Review by BookViral… January 23, 2017

A welcome throwback to the days of intriguing murder mysteries that didn’t rely on sex and violence to disguise thinly veiled plots, Missing Alibi proves a welcome sequel to A. K. Lakelett’s “Remember Me?”. A timely and classic blend of suspense laced with one twist after another it’s one of those rare offerings that actually encourages the reader to solve the crime. Dense with plot intricacies, thick with atmosphere, and packed with a well-nuanced ensemble of characters it’s hard to be innovative in such a popular genre but as with “Remember Me?”, Lakelett does just that. By delivering a stage play disguised as a novel she maintains a real sense of legitimacy and urgency that pervades her pages as multiple narrative threads come together. On this level, she delivers a taught narrative that elevates the Faukon Abbey Mysteries to the next level whilst typically strong character development sees Green, Ford and Carter continue to develop as both eclectic and endearing protagonists.

Sure to be well received by fans of the Faukon Abbey Mysteries, Missing Alibi continues to build on an original theme and one that would transition well to other mediums. It is highly recommended.

Amazon sites:

4 stars – It felt more like I was reading a play rather than a novel … March 28 2017

I received a free copy of this book and voluntarily chose to review it. I was unsure what to think of it when I first picked it up as I am not used to reading novels written in the present tense. It felt more like I was reading a play rather than a novel. I quickly got past the “discomfort” and found myself really enjoying the book. The characters are interesting, and the twists and turns in the plot kept me enthralled (and guessing) until the very end. A.K. Lakelett has been added to my list of authors I am following, and I will be reading the first novel in this series, “Remember Me?” in the near future.

5 stars – Beans recalledMarch 19, 2017

After a somewhat disjointed start, I quite enjoyed this book. Strongly delineated characters as suspects but with all the red herrings in the world to cover the wrongdoer. Brilliantly plotted story line lends an elegance to the writing.
I predict we will still see great things from A.K. Lakelett, who kindly gave me a free copy of this book.

4 stars – English countryside MurderMarch 25, 2017

I received a free copy of this book and choose to voluntarily choose to review.
This is a good classic murder mystery book in the genre of Midsomer Murders ect… but with a twist: The investigators are the detectives ( you get their point of view and a journalist who also is investigating. I quite like this style of writing, in the beginning a bit confusing but after a few pages the reader gets it. (almost like a playwrite). I enjoyed reading the book and find that considerable work has been done for research. Sure to read another book from the author;

 5 stars – Where’d You Get the Great Meatballs? …. January 21, 2017

I am a big fan of the British police procedural mystery and A. K. Lakelett has produced a series that captures the flavor of that type of mystery very well, with the addition of a little meatball humor to give it additional piquancy. She has well-developed characters in the police officers and the reporter following the story and she gradually weaves the threads together to form a complete picture. Ms. Lakelett’s plotting… I am a big fan of the British police procedural mystery and A. K. Lakelett has produced a series that captures the flavor of that type of mystery very well, with the addition of a little meatball humor to give it additional piquancy. She has well-developed characters in the police officers and the reporter following the story and she gradually weaves the threads together to form a complete picture. Ms. Lakelett’s plotting is devious and there is more than one candidate for villain in the running, which always makes the story more interesting, albeit more complicated. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and heartily recommend it to mystery lovers everywhere.

5 stars – A good English mystery …. January 20, 2017

Very good mystery, a few twists and turns, but I found it kept my attention. A clean mystery, no sex, foul language. The author has a very smooth way of writing, I would definitely read future mysteries about Faukon Abbey. I received a free copy of this book and chose to voluntarily chose to review it.

4 stars – Different sort of story January 20, 2017

I was a bit lost at the start, with the seemingly constant switching of character perspective, but then I became caught up in the mystery and who did what, when, along with the humor thrown in. I enjoyed this book and would read more from this Author.

5 stars –  I purchased a copy in order to help support the author and I cannot think of a better way to express how much I enjoyed the book  January 20, 2017

I received a free copy of this book and voluntarily chose to review; in addition, I purchased a copy in order to help support the author and I cannot think of a better way to express how much I enjoyed the book. The story follows the experiences of a number of characters and the reader can figure out whodunit by paying attention.

4 stars – Builds suspense and mystery with a bit of humor PERFECT! ….. January 18, 2017

*I had the pleasure of reading this book ahead of time and am voluntarily writing this review.* A little difficult to get into with different points of view but then they twisted and turned and tantalized as good mysteries do and before I knew it….done! I didn’t expect the complications and suspense and was completely surprised “who done it and why!!! Yey.
Goodreads:

4 stars –  Great mystery… January 21, 2017

Great mystery story that leaves you trying to guess the end. Two detectives and a journalist try to figure out what happened to a popular mystery writer. Was she killed because of her stories, or was it totally some other reason. Loved the story, first time with this author, but not the last. Voluntarily reviewing this book.

More reviews of Missing Alibi on Goodreads! And you can leave your own review either there or on amazon.